Lewis Hamilton smashes Silverstone lap record to take pole position


Lewis Hamilton will keep his pole position for Formula 1’s British Grand Prix after being cleared of blocking Romain Grosjean in Q3 at Silverstone.

Grosjean was left furious after feeling that he had been impeded by Hamilton on the left-hand turn into Club as he finished his first run in the final shootout session.

The Haas team suspected Grosjean had lost around three tenths of a second in the incident and would have beaten Stoffel Vandoorne to ninth place.

Although the race stewards launched an investigation into the matter, their analysis of the situation was that while Hamilton had got in Grosjean’s way, he had not cost the Frenchman anything.

A statement issued by the FIA said: “The stewards examined video and telemetry evidence and concluded that while GRO may potentially have been affected by the presence of HAM at Turn 16, he was not impeded.”

Prior to the stewards’ decision, Hamilton had already apologised to Grosjean and claimed he had received no warning from his Mercedes team over the radio that the Haas driver was approaching him.

“I was coming around to start my lap, Valtteri [Bottas] up ahead, I was trying to get the space,” said Hamilton.

“Behind me was one of the Force Indias, who then came in, so there was no one behind me.

“Literally as I was about to get on the gas I looked in the mirror and saw a car, and I tried to get going.

“I don’t know if I got in the way, if I did I apologise.

“I had no indication from the team that anyone was coming. I need to look at the footage.

“I don’t think he was that close when I pulled away, but I will have a look.”


1Lewis HamiltonMercedes1m26.600s
2Kimi RaikkonenFerrari1m27.147s0.547s
3Sebastian VettelFerrari1m27.356s0.756s
4Max VerstappenRed Bull/Renault1m28.130s1.530s
5Nico HulkenbergRenault1m28.856s2.256s
6Sergio PerezForce India/Mercedes1m28.902s2.302s
7Esteban OconForce India/Mercedes1m29.074s2.474s
8Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren/Honda1m29.418s2.818s
9Valtteri BottasMercedes1m27.376s0.776s
10Romain GrosjeanHaas/Ferrari1m29.549s2.949s
11Jolyon PalmerRenault1m30.193s
12Daniil KvyatToro Rosso/Renault1m30.355s
13Carlos SainzToro Rosso/Renault1m31.368s
14Felipe MassaWilliams/Mercedes1m31.482s
15Lance StrollWilliams/Mercedes1m42.573s
16Kevin MagnussenHaas/Ferrari1m42.577s
17Pascal WehrleinSauber/Ferrari1m42.593s
18Marcus EricssonSauber/Ferrari1m42.633s
19Daniel RicciardoRed Bull/Renault1m42.966s
20Fernando AlonsoMcLaren/Honda1m30.600s

Lewis Hamilton smashes Silverstone lap record to take pole position

  • Autosport
    About The Author

    20 − fifteen =

    You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>