Castroneves snags first Indycar win in three years at Iowa

Helio Castroneves ended a three-year IndyCar win drought with victory for Penske at Iowa Speedway.

Castroneves took the lead from polesitting team-mate Will Power in traffic early on, with Power struggling to match his team-mate’s pace.

Penske was then able to make use of cautions for crashes for Mikhail Aleshin, Carlos Munoz and Conor Daly to make all of Castroneves’ first three pitstops under yellow.

With just under 100 laps to go the red flag was brought out briefly due to light rain, and when the race restarted it was a case of who would pit first.

Ed Carpenter Racing elected to pit JR Hilderbrand from second, which allowed him to make use of the undercut and emerge ahead of Castroneves in the closing stages.

But traffic played a crucial role and allowed Castroneves on fresher tyres to retake the lead and ultimately secure the win.

That win leaves just eight points between Castroneves and Scott Dixon, who finished in eighth, in the drivers championship.

Ryan Hunter-Reay was third with an impressive drive from 15th on the grid, while Power finished fourth having been overtaken by the Andretti Autosport driver in the closing stages.

Graham Rahal was fifth having started from 10th, also making use of the earlier cautions to jump drivers in the pitstops.

Josef Newgarden came back from starting 16th to finish sixth, with fellow Penske driver Simon Pagenaud also making progress from a disappointing qualifying position as he came from 11th to seventh.

Tony Kanaan and James Hinchcliffe rounded out the top 10 behind Dixon.


1Helio CastronevesTeam PenskeDallara/Chevrolet1h55m11.2807s
2J.R. HildebrandEd Carpenter RacingDallara/Chevrolet3.9647s
3Ryan Hunter-ReayAndretti AutosportDallara/Honda4.5845s
4Will PowerTeam PenskeDallara/Chevrolet5.7403s
5Graham RahalRahal Letterman LaniganDallara/Honda10.1811s
6Josef NewgardenTeam PenskeDallara/Chevrolet11.0500s
7Simon PagenaudTeam PenskeDallara/Chevrolet12.2562s
8Scott DixonChip Ganassi RacingDallara/Honda14.3653s
9Tony KanaanChip Ganassi RacingDallara/Honda15.1184s
10James HinchcliffeSchmidt Peterson MotorsportsDallara/Honda15.8243s
11Alexander RossiAndretti HertaDallara/Honda1 Lap
12Ed CarpenterEd Carpenter RacingDallara/Chevrolet1 Lap
13Esteban GutierrezDale Coyne RacingDallara/Honda1 Lap
14Max ChiltonChip Ganassi RacingDallara/Honda1 Lap
15Charlie KimballChip Ganassi RacingDallara/Honda2 Laps
16Takuma SatoAndretti AutosportDallara/Honda2 Laps
17Marco AndrettiAndretti AutosportDallara/Honda2 Laps
18Ed JonesDale Coyne RacingDallara/Honda3 Laps
19Conor DalyAJ Foyt EnterprisesDallara/ChevroletContact
20Carlos MunozAJ Foyt EnterprisesDallara/ChevroletContact
21Mikhail AleshinSchmidt Peterson MotorsportsDallara/HondaContact

Castroneves snags first Indycar win in three years at Iowa

  • About The Author

    nineteen + thirteen =

    You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>