First wave of 2019 Le Mans 24 Hours entries revealed

The first 42 cars on the entry list for this year’s Le Mans 24 Hours have been unveiled.

The confirmed entries are those of full-time competitors in the World Endurance Championship who have gained guaranteed spots in the race, which is the final round of the 2018/19 superseason.

It had originally been announced by race organiser the Automobile Club de l’Ouest that 50 cars would be announced today.

The publication of just 42 entries means that a further 18 cars will be revealed on March 1, along with 10 reserves.

These will include the four entrants that will gain invitations for their success in the 2018/19 Asian Le Mans Series, which climaxes at Sepang on February 24.

It is expected that Corvette Racing, which will be returning to Le Mans for the 20th consecutive year, and the US arm of the Chip Ganassi Ford squad will take four of the 14 spots still up for grabs.

Porsche has already announced a four-car attack for the 2019 race.

The first wave of Le Mans entries is made up of 34 WEC regulars and eight cars that have been awarded race invites for their success in the European Le Mans Series, the IMSA SportsCar Championship and the Michelin Le Mans Cup.

Formula 1 world champion Jenson Button is listed in the #11 SMP Racing BRE-AER BR1 alongside Vitaly Petrov and Mikhail Aleshin as expected.

The Briton’s return to the ART-run squad’s line-up after missing the next two WEC rounds at Sebring next month and Spa in May had already been confirmed.

Ginetta, which had been a full-season WEC effort, is absent from the Le Mans entries revealed so far.

The entry includes the German ByKolles LMP1 squad, which will be absent from next month’s Sebring 1000 Miles WEC round for what the team is describing as reasons for “force majeure”.

ByKolles has stated that it will be back in the WEC at Spa on May 4.

The team’s sporting director Manfredi Ravetto refused to comment on speculation that the team is about to have a change of engine supplier from Nissan.

“The reason we will not be at Sebring involves a third-party supplier,” he said.

“It is a case of force majeure and I cannot comment on it.”

The publication of the entry list confirmed that Daniel Serra and Miguel Molina will again be the third drivers in Ferrari’s two regular WEC entries run by AF Corse.

Ferrari and Porsche are the only manufacturers to confirm all three drivers for their factory GTE Pro entries.

BMW has only listed one driver in each of its two MTEK-run M8 GTEs.

In GTE Am, Ford will also have its first GT customer team with Keating Motorsports confirmed as running one car.

The rules of the race require teams to nominate only one driver at this stage.

First-time entrants at Le Mans this year include the British RLR Msport.

It will field an LMP2 ORECA-Gibson 07 after gaining an automatic entry for winning the LMP3 title in last year’s ELMS.

The ACO has revealed that it received 75 applications for entries for the 87th running of the 24 Hours.

Initial 2019 Le Mans 24 Hours entries

1LMP1Rebellion RacingRebellion R13-GibsonNeel Jani, Andre Lotterer, Bruno Senna
3LMP1Rebellion RacingRebellion R13-GibsonThomas Laurent, Nathanael Berthon, Gustavo Menezes
4LMP1ByKolles Racing TeamENSO CLM P1/01-NissanTom Dillmann
7LMP1Toyota Gazoo RacingToyota TS050 HYBRIDMike Conway, Kamui Kobayashi, Jose Maria Lopez
8LMP1Toyota Gazoo RacingToyota TS050 HYBRIDSebastien Buemi, Kazuki Nakajima, Fernando Alonso
10LMP1DragonSpeedBR Engineering BR1-GibsonHenrik Hedman, Ben Hanley, Renger van der Zande
11LMP1SMP RacingBR Engineering BR1-AERVitaly Petrov, Mikhail Aleshin, Jenson Button
17LMP1SMP RacingBR Engineering BR1-AERStephane Sarrazin, Egor Orudzhev, Sergey Sirotkin
26LMP2G-Drive RacingORECA 07-GibsonRomain Rusinov
28LMP2TDS RacingORECA 07-GibsonFrancois Perrodo, Matthieu Vaxiviere, Loic Duval
29LMP2Racing Team NederlandDallara P217 07-GibsonFrits van Eerd, Giedo van der Garde, Nyck de Vries
31LMP2DragonSpeedORECA 07-GibsonRoberto Gonzalez, Pastor Maldonado, Anthony Davidson
26LMP2Signatech AlpineAlpine A470-GibsonNico Lapierre, Andre Negrao, Pierre Thiriet
37LMP2Jackie Chan DC RacingORECA 07-GibsonDavid Heinemeier Hansson
38LMP2Jackie Chan DC RacingORECA 07-GibsonHo-Pin Tung, Stephane Richelmi, Gabriel Aubry
43LMP2RLR M SportORECA 07-GibsonJohn Farano
50LM2Larbre CompetitionLigier JSP217-GibsonErwin Creed, Romano Ricci
51GTE ProAF CorseFerrari 488 GTE EvoAlessandro Pier Guidi, James Calado, Daniel Serra
66GTE ProFord Chip Ganassi Team UKFord GTStefan Mucke, Olivier Pla
67GTE ProFord Chip Ganassi Team UKFord GTAndy Priaulx, Harry Tincknell
71GTE ProAF CorseFerrari 488 GTE EvoDavide Rigon, Sam Bird, Miguel Molina
81GTE ProBMW Team MTEKBMW M8 GTENicky Catsburg
82GTE ProBMW Team MTEKBMW M8 GTEAugusto Frafus
91GTE ProPorsche GT TeamPorsche 911 RSRRichard Lietz, Gianmaria Bruni, Fred Makowiecki
92GTE ProPorsch GT TeamPorsche 911 RSRMichael Christensen, Kevin Estre, Laurens Vanthoor
95GTE ProAston Martin RacingAston Martin Vantage AMRNicki Thiim, Marco Sorensen
97GTE ProAston Martin RacingAston Martin Vantage AMRMaximie Martin, Alex Lynn
54GTE AmSpirit of RaceFerrari 488 GTEThomas Flohr, Francesco Castellacci, Giancarlo Fisichella
56GTE AmTeam Project 1Porsche 911 RSRJorg Bergmeister, Patrick Lindsey, Egidio Perfetti
61GTE AmClearwater RacingFerarri 488 GTELuis Perez Companc, Matt Griffin, Matteo Cressoni
62GTE AmWeathertech RacingFerrari 488 GTECooper Macneil
70GTE AmMR RacingFerrari 488 GTEMotoaki Ishikawa, Olivier Beretta, Eddie Cheever
77GTE AmDempset-Proton RacingPorsche 911 RSRMatt Campbell
88GTE AmDempsey-Proton RacingPorsche 911 RSRSatoshi Hoshino, Gianluca Roda, Matteo Cairoli
99GTE AmDempsey-Proton RacingPorsche 911 RSRPatrick Long
78GTE AmProton CompetitionPorsche 911 RSRChen
84GTE AmJMW MotorsportFerrari 488 GTEJonny Cocker
85GTE AmKeating MotorsportsFord GTBen Keating, Jeroen Bleekemolen, Felipe Fraga
86GTE AmGulf RacingPorsche 911 RSRMichael Wainwright, Ben Barker
90GTE AmTF SportAston Martin VantageSalih Yoluc, Eaun Alers-Hankey, Charlie Eastwood
98GTE AmAston Martin RacingAston Martin VantagePaul Dalla Lana, Pedro Lamy, Mathias Lauda
60GTE AmKessel RacingFerrari 488 GTEClaudio Schiavoni

First wave of 2019 Le Mans 24 Hours entries revealed

  • About The Author

    five × 4 =

    You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>