24 cars of FIA GT World Cup entry list for Macau, including Earl Bamber

24 cars are on the first published entry list for the second FIA GT World Cup at Macau, which is set to take place from November 17th to 20th. 22 of the cars in the field have confirmed drivers, and represent a broad contingent of series and manufacturers.

President of the FIA GT Commission Christian Schacht is positive about the set of entries for this year’s event.

“GT3 race meetings take place on the best circuits in the world, but in holding the FIA GT World Cup event at the Macau Grand Prix we have captured a unique racing heritage and one of the most exciting motorsport backdrops,” Mr Schacht said.

“It is an end-of-year showcase of talent and a showdown for the best manufacturers, customer teams and drivers. Judging by the quality and variety of entries the second running of the race will cement the world cup as a fixture on the global motorsport calendar.”

Drivers will compete in two races over 12 laps in qualifying and 18 laps in the main race around the fast straights and technical turns of Macao’s Guia Circuit.

The circuit is renowned for its difficulty. With 30 metres of altitude change, sections as narrow as seven metres and one of the longest street circuit straights, some of the 6.2-kilometre Guia circuit’s 19 corners are regarded as among the most challenging in the world.

The 2015 race was contested by a contingent of 22 drivers from 14 teams (representing the Blancpain Endurance Series, GT Asia Series, Super GT, DTM, WEC, Carrera Cup among others) competing in a range of categories. The 2016 race will see a heated battle among a diverse grid.

The field is headed by 2015 FIA GT World Cup winner Maro Engel, chasing a consecutive world cup victory in the Mercedes-AMG Driving Academy AMG-GT3. Engel is joined again by teammate Renger van der Zande, who claimed second in the 2016 Nurburgring 24H and Spa-Francorhamps for AMG, and ran fourth in last year’s world cup.

DTM driver Edoardo Mortara – one of only two drivers to ever claim back to back Macau Grand Prix F3 victories, and winner of the 2013 Macau GT Cup – will also battle Engel for the World Cup.

Other big names include 2015 outright winner of the 24 Hours of Le Mans, two-time Porsche Carrera Cup Asia winner and Porsche Supercup winner Earl Bamber and 2013 FIA GT Series Champion and 2015 Nürburgring 24 Hours winner Laurens Vanthoor.

The event will once again feature a single tyre supplier, Pirelli and will have title sponsorship from Motul.


24 cars of FIA GT World Cup entry list for Macau, including Earl Bamber

  • About The Author

    eighteen − three =

    You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>