MotoGP Misano: Dovizioso takes victory as Lorenzo crashes out

Andrea Dovizioso scored a straightforward third win of the MotoGP season at Misano ahead of Marc Marquez, as Jorge Lorenzo crashed out of second place.

Dovizioso’s win was Ducati’s third in succession – the first time the Italian marque has taken a hat-trick since 2008 – as he carved his way from fourth on the grid in the opening laps before setting a pace his opponents were unable to match.

Lorenzo and Marquez managed to close the gap in the latter stages until the former slid out at the Turn 8 left-hander on the penultimate lap, which left Dovizioso with a clear run to victory.

Poleman Lorenzo hung onto the lead in the opening sequence of corners ahead of fellow front-row starter Jack Miller, as Marquez jumped to third ahead of Dovizioso.

But by the end of the lap Dovizioso had cleared both Marquez and Miller to move into second, and on the sixth lap of 27 he eased past Lorenzo on the run down to Turn 8 to take command.

By that time, Miller had crashed out of what had become fourth, leaving the leading trio with a significant gap over the rest.

Dovizioso’s lead was hovering at less than a second until he set a new fastest lap on lap nine, and five laps later his advantage had grown to nearly two seconds.

Marquez and Lorenzo, engaged in a thrilling scrap over second, edged back towards Dovizioso in the final five laps but the Italian was able to stabilise his gap and finally take the chequered flag by 2.8s after Lorenzo’s crash.

Lorenzo’s crash, allied to Dovizioso’s win, enabled the Italian to emerge as Marquez’s closest challenger in the championship, albeit the duo split by a sizeable 67 points.

Subscribe to Autosport Plus

Premium motorsport journalism in an
ad-free experience.

Subscribe today

Behind Marquez, LCR Honda’s Cal Crutchlow – who ran a lonely fourth for most of the race – was promoted to the final podium spot, a further 4s down on Marquez, followed by Suzuki man Alex Rins.

Yamaha’s Maverick Vinales failed to make the most of his front-row starting spot, slipping to fifth on the opening lap and ultimately ending up in the same position.

Team-mate Valentino Rossi had a similarly indifferent run to seventh behind the second works Honda of Dani Pedrosa.

Andrea Iannone (Suzuki), Alvaro Bautista (Nieto Ducati) and Johann Zarco (Tech 3 Yamaha) completed the top 10.

Rounding out the scorers were Aprilia’s Aleix Espargaro and Ducati wildcard Michele Pirro, while Lorenzo remounted to finish 17th – one place ahead of Miller.

The other retirees were Xavier Simeon (Avintia Ducati) and Stefan Bradl (Honda), both crashing out, while KTM’s Pol Espargaro was forced to retire a little beyond half-distance.

Debutant Christophe Ponsson (Avintia) finished a lapped 23rd.

Race result

1Andrea DoviziosoDucatiDucati2742m05.426s
2Marc MarquezHondaHonda272.822s
3Cal CrutchlowLCR HondaHonda277.269s
4Alex RinsSuzukiSuzuki2714.687s
5Maverick VinalesYamahaYamaha2716.016s
6Dani PedrosaHondaHonda2717.408s
7Valentino RossiYamahaYamaha2719.086s
8Andrea IannoneSuzukiSuzuki2721.804s
9Alvaro BautistaAspar DucatiDucati2723.919s
10Johann ZarcoTech3 YamahaYamaha2727.559s
11Danilo PetrucciPramac DucatiDucati2730.698s
12Franco MorbidelliMVDS HondaHonda2732.941s
13Takaaki NakagamiLCR HondaHonda2733.461s
14Aleix EspargaroApriliaAprilia2735.686s
15Michele PirroDucatiDucati2735.812s
16Bradley SmithKTMKTM2746.500s
17Jorge LorenzoDucatiDucati2746.614s
18Jack MillerPramac DucatiDucati2750.593s
19Hafizh SyahrinTech3 YamahaYamaha2755.168s
20Karel AbrahamAspar DucatiDucati271m02.255s
21Scott ReddingApriliaAprilia271m09.475s
22Thomas LuthiMVDS HondaHonda271m12.608s
23Christophe PonssonAvintia DucatiDucati261 Lap
Stefan BradlHondaHonda17Retirement
Pol EspargaroKTMKTM17Retirement
Xavier SimeonAvintia DucatiDucati2Retirement

MotoGP Misano: Dovizioso takes victory as Lorenzo crashes out

  • About The Author

    eleven + eighteen =

    You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>