Shwartzman picks up first ever FIA F3 pole; Armstrong third, Lawson 19th

Robert Shwartzman picked up where he left off in pre-season testing, chalking up the first ever FIA Formula 3 pole position in qualifying, at Barcelona, Spain. The PREMA driver’s time of 1:31.975 was set at the death, and saw him finish ahead of ART’s Christian Lundgaard and PREMA Racing teammate Marcus Armstrong.

No sooner had the drivers hit the track, were they hauled back into the pitlane, as Alessio Deledda came to a halt on track and brought out a red flag, succumbing to mechanical gremlins.

The drivers were soon back out on the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya and the times began to fly in, as a number of the thirty cars took a turn at the top. It was Simo Laaksonen who firstly got a go on provisional pole with a time 1:33.322, as Logan Sargeant landed P2 behind him, followed by Lundgaard.

PREMA would then pounce and claim both first and second place, with the quickest time now set at 1:32.597 by Shwartzman, followed by his teammate Jehan Daruvala. Armstrong was next to join the PREMA party, as he wrestled control of fourth place.

Laaksonen and Armstrong both put in strong laps as they looked to claim further places, but they couldn’t get close to the Ferrari Academy driver in P1, while Daruvala strengthened his positon in second by beating his own best time.

Lundgaard briefly succeeded in toppling the rampant Russian and broke up the PREMA one-two with a time of 1:32.083. It wasn’t to last though as Shwartzman upped his game and broke the 1m 32s barrier to land pole position.

With the Russian on pole and Lundgaard behind him, Marcus Armstrong set a blistering late time himself to steal P3, while Daruvala sealed a third top four spot for PREMA. Following that quartet were Sargeant, Laaksonen, David Beckmann, Max Fewtrell, Alex Peroni and Yuki Tsunoda.

Shwartzman will look to maintain first place tomorrow at 10.15am, when the drivers take to the circuit for the maiden FIA Formula 3 race.


2019 FIA Formula 3 Round 1 – Qualifying classification


1Robert ShwartzmanPREMA Racing1:31.97511
2Christian LundgaardART Grand Prix1:32.08311
3Marcus ArmstrongPREMA Racing1:32.42711
4Jehan DaruvalaPREMA Racing1:32.52911
5Logan SargeantCarlin Buzz Racing1:32.66011
6Simo LaaksonenMP Motorsport1:32.75513
7David BeckmannART Grand Prix1:32.82912
8Max FewtrellART Grand Prix1:32.85711
9Alex PeroniCampos Racing1:32.86312
10Yuki TsunodaJenzer Motorsport1:32.87511
11Juri VipsHitech Grand Prix1:32.87613
12Niko KariTrident1:32.87812
13Pedro PiquetTrident1:32.88011
14Lirim ZendeliSauber Junior Team by Charouz1:32.93411
15Richard VerschoorMP Motorsport1:32.94912
16Bent ViscaalHWA RACELAB1:33.01011
17Fabio SchererSauber Junior Team by Charouz1:33.02211
18Leonardo PulciniHitech Grand Prix1:33.10311
19Liam LawsonMP Motorsport1:33.15013
20Felipe DrugovichCarlin Buzz Racing1:33.31312
21Keyvan AndresHWA RACELAB1:33.43011
22Ye YifeiHitech Grand Prix1:33.47512
23Sebastian FernandezCampos Racing1:33.50812
24Devlin DeFrancescoTrident1:33.54511
25Raoul HymanSauber Junior Team by Charouz1:33.56411
26Artem PetrovJenzer Motorsport1:33.71413
27Andreas EstnerJenzer Motorsport1:33.96213
28Teppei NatoriCarlin Buzz Racing1:34.05411
29Jake HughesHWA RACELAB1:34.17311
30Alessio DeleddaCampos Racing

Shwartzman picks up first ever FIA F3 pole; Armstrong third, Lawson 19th

  • About The Author

    two × 3 =

    You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>