Abt takes Mexico ePrix win for Audi, Evans finishes a strong sixth for Jaguar

Daniel Abt gave Audi its first Formula E win of the 2017/18 season by clinching victory in the Mexico City ePrix ahead of Oliver Turvey and Sebastien Buemi.

Abt, who was stripped of a maiden win in the second leg of the Hong Kong round, made a much faster pitstop to get ahead of Turvey in the car swaps.

The 47-lap race had three distinct phases, with polesitter Felix Rosenqvist leading the early stages before stopping on-track and handing the lead to Turvey.

At the start, Rosenqvist had led away comfortably with Turvey and Buemi following him off the line in grid order.

Rosenqvist slowly edged away from Turvey over the initial laps before building a substantial gap approaching one-third distance, with his NIO rival doing likewise to Buemi.

But at the end of lap 14, Rosenqvist ground to a halt rounding the the former Peraltada turn and dropped to the rear of the field before later retiring his Mahindra.

Turvey maintained his advantage over Buemi, who lost second to Abt – up from fifth on the grid – by running wide at the first corner at the start of lap 21.

The leaders came in on lap 24 and Abt made the fastest car switch to leap past Turvey and seize the net lead.

From there, Abt never looked back and surged clear over the second half of the race to take the win by 6.3 seconds.

Turvey rejoined just in front of Jean-Eric Vergne, who had used the car swaps to jump Buemi.

But Buemi quickly used his fanboost power advantage to blast past Vergne heading into Turn 1 on lap 28.

The 2015/2016 champion then homed in on Turvey and made a dramatic attack at Turn 1 in the closing stages – both drivers locked up at the tight right-hander – but could not get by.

The driver who made the most progress in second stint was Jaguar’s Nelson Piquet, who had conserved his energy in the first half and stayed out for an extra lap before pitting.

He passed his team-mate Mitch Evans and Vergne in a flurry of rapid laps and although he closed in on the Turvey-Buemi scrap he did not make a move.

Evans ended up sixth ahead of Da Costa and Edoardo Mortara, with reigning champion Lucas di Grassi ninth.

Di Grassi made steady progress up the order from last on the grid in the first stint and he too ran a lap longer.

The Brazilian used his energy advantage to set the fastest lap and fight his way into the top 10 places – clashing with Jose Maria Lopez at Turn 1 on the way.

Alex Lynn rounded out the top 10 for Virgin Racing, with his team-mate Sam Bird 17th and last of the classified runners.

Bird had started 19th but could not match di Grassi’s progress, and he collided with Nico Prost – who retired shortly afterwards – approaching the closing stages.

The other non-finisher was Nick Heidfeld, who also came to a sudden halt at the exit of the final corner in his Mahindra machine on lap 27.

Andre Lotter had to serve a drive-through penalty after appearing to run over a mechanic’s foot exiting his car swap, which dropped him from a solid-looking top 10 result and he ended up 13th.

Race result

1Daniel AbtAudiAudi4750m45.164s
2Oliver TurveyNIONextEV NIO476.398s
3Sebastien Buemie.damsRenault476.615s
4Nelson Piquet Jr.JaguarJaguar477.015s
5Jean-Eric VergneTecheetahRenault477.546s
6Mitch EvansJaguarJaguar479.050s
7Antonio Felix da CostaAndrettiAndretti4717.157s
8Edoardo MortaraVenturiVenturi4726.511s
9Lucas di GrassiAudiAudi4729.208s
10Alex LynnVirginDS Virgin4729.515s
11Jerome d’AmbrosioDragonPenske4730.418s
12Jose Maria LopezDragonPenske4731.859s
13Andre LottererTecheetahRenault4736.206s
14Luca FilippiNIONextEV NIO4738.336s
15Tom BlomqvistAndrettiAndretti4738.592s
16Maro EngelVenturiVenturi4744.689s
17Sam BirdVirginDS Virgin4744.982s
Nicolas Proste.damsRenault36Retirement
Felix RosenqvistMahindraMahindra34Retirement
Nick HeidfeldMahindraMahindra27Retirement

Drivers’ standings

1Jean-Eric Vergne81
2Felix Rosenqvist69
3Sam Bird61
4Sebastien Buemi52
5Nelson Piquet Jr.45
6Daniel Abt37
7Mitch Evans29
8Edoardo Mortara28
9Oliver Turvey26
10Nick Heidfeld21
11Andre Lotterer18
12Antonio Felix da Costa16
13Alex Lynn9
14Jose Maria Lopez8
15Nicolas Prost7
16Maro Engel6
17Jerome d’Ambrosio4
18Tom Blomqvist4
19Lucas di Grassi3
20Luca Filippi1
21Kamui Kobayashi0
22Neel Jani0

Abt takes Mexico ePrix win for Audi, Evans finishes a strong sixth for Jaguar

  • About The Author

    14 − 12 =

    You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>