Power leads Penske front row lockout at Iowa, Dixon to start sixth

Will Power took pole position for this weekend’s IndyCar race at Iowa, while Andretti’s Ryan Hunter-Reay managed to prevent a Penske one-two-three on the grid.

Josef Newgarden made it a provisional Penske lockout after 19 drivers had set a two-lap average on the Iowa oval, but his 181.161mph was only good enough for second on the grid.

That was because Power starred by becoming the only driver to hit a 182mph lap, doing so on both tours to set a pole speed average of 182.035mph.

Hunter-Reay was one of the final drivers to hit the track and displaced Simon Pagenaud for third by setting an average of 180.681mph, making him the only Honda-powered driver to break the 180mph benchmark.

Alexander Rossi was fifth for Andretti ahead of Chip Ganassi Racing’s Scott Dixon, who was the last driver to qualify.

Robert Wickens said he did not expect to qualify inside the top 10 after his run put him seventh on the grid in his Schmidt Peterson Motorsports-run machine.

That put him ahead of Ed Jones and Ed Carpenter on the grid. Rahal Letterman Lanigan’s Takuma Sato was 10th, comfortably the fastest driver in the early runs.

Those who hit the track first admitted to being stunned by how much the conditions had changed from Saturday’s earlier practice session, meaning that lap speeds were surprisingly lower than in practice.

James Hinchcliffe was 11th in the second SPM-run machine, ahead of Graham Rahal and Tony Kanaan.

Sebastien Bourdais was 15th in his Dale Coyne entry, having clipped the outside wall on his second lap.

Marco Andretti was a disappointing 19th in a two-lap run that looked particularly loose.

Starting grid

1Will PowerTeam PenskeDallara/Chevrolet35.2913s
2Josef NewgardenTeam PenskeDallara/Chevrolet0.2397s
3Ryan Hunter-ReayAndretti AutosportDallara/Honda0.3340s
4Simon PagenaudTeam PenskeDallara/Chevrolet0.4067s
5Alexander RossiAndretti AutosportDallara/Honda0.5083s
6Scott DixonChip Ganassi RacingDallara/Honda0.5632s
7Robert WickensSchmidt Peterson MotorsportsDallara/Honda0.6920s
8Ed JonesChip Ganassi RacingDallara/Honda0.7248s
9Ed CarpenterEd Carpenter RacingDallara/Chevrolet0.7255s
10Takuma SatoRahal Letterman LaniganDallara/Honda0.7272s
11James HinchcliffeSchmidt Peterson MotorsportsDallara/Honda0.7737s
12Graham RahalRahal Letterman LaniganDallara/Honda0.7873s
13Tony KanaanAJ Foyt EnterprisesDallara/Chevrolet0.8688s
14Zach VeachAndretti AutosportDallara/Honda0.9093s
15Sebastien BourdaisDale Coyne RacingDallara/Honda0.9355s
16Gabby ChavesHarding RacingDallara/Chevrolet1.1849s
17Charlie KimballCarlinDallara/Chevrolet1.2305s
18Spencer PigotEd Carpenter RacingDallara/Chevrolet1.4463s
19Marco AndrettiAndretti HertaDallara/Honda1.5857s
20Zachary ClamanDale Coyne RacingDallara/Honda1.6298s
21Max ChiltonCarlinDallara/Chevrolet1.8194s
22Matheus LeistAJ Foyt EnterprisesDallara/Chevrolet2.8585s

Power leads Penske front row lockout at Iowa, Dixon to start sixth

  • About The Author

    12 − 3 =

    You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>