Record fifth DTM win at Norisring for Bruno Spengler

Bruno Spengler stormed to a record fifth DTM race win at the Norisring after the BMW RMG driver was unmatched in race two. The Canadian lead home Audi Sport Team Rosberg’s Jamie Green and Audi Sport Team Phoenix’s Mike Rockenfeller who were both handed five place grid penalties for failing to adhere to red flag rules in qualifying.

Spengler displayed incredible pace throughout the race, leading the majority of the laps at the 2.3km street circuit and holding a five second lead over Green at the line.

At the start, Spengler watched on as Audi Sport Team Phoenix driver Loïc Duval, pole sitter Audi Sport Team Rosberg’s René Rast and Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline’s Nico Müller went three wide into the Grundig Hairpin. The trio ran wide as Spengler made a cutback move and took the lead by the Schöller-S.

Drama was then unfolded as Rast and Müller collided through turn 2, the latter deemed responsible and handed a drive through penalty. Race one winner Rast dropped to the back of the pack, but escaped with no major damage.

Spengler began to stretch his legs at the front of the field, and established a three second lead by lap 12.

The 2012 DTM champion perfectly managed traffic as other drivers made early stops, and was able to hold his lead after making his mandatory visit to pitlane on lap 32.

Cooler track conditions compared to Saturday meant drivers were not struggling as much with tyre management, however light rain in the final 20 minutes forced drivers to be aware of reducing grip.

Rockenfeller, who had pitted on lap 37, made use of his fresher tyres in the final 15 minutes by making his way through the field from eighth to the podium.

Spengler held on to his 16th DTM victory and was joined on the podium by Green, who is still recovering from appendicitis, and Rockenfeller who scored his second DTM podium of the year.

Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline driver Robin Frijns finished fourth after showing competitive pace, and passing BMW Team RMR’s Philipp Eng and the lap one stopping Audi Sport Team Phoenix driver Loïc Duval in the final quarter of the race.

After his first lap spin, Rast was able to recover to seventh place, ahead of Müller who scored points despite having to make a drive through.

Timo Glock picked up his fourth points finish of the 2019 season for BMW Team RMR in ninth, ahead of R-Motorsport’s Daniel Juncadella who rounded out the top ten.

The Spaniard drove the longest stint of anyone, making his mandatory stop on lap 41 and continued to show his pace in the new Aston Martin Vantage.

With his first win of the 2019 season, Spengler has jumped to fourth in the standings, but remains 52 points adrift of Rast who extended his championship lead to 25 points over Müller.

Race result

17Bruno SPENGLERBMW M4 DTM7056:15.61047.0607
253Jamie GREENAudi RS5 DTM705.76546.9642
399Mike ROCKENFELLERAudi RS5 DTM706.83346.8606
44Robin FRIJNSAudi RS5 DTM7011.69547.03611
525Philipp ENGBMW M4 DTM7016.36547.0675
628Loïc DUVALAudi RS5 DTM7017.59046.7804
733René RASTAudi RS5 DTM7025.48047.0281
851Nico MÜLLERAudi RS5 DTM7029.08046.6183
916Timo GLOCKBMW M4 DTM7033.53647.10318
1023Daniel JUNCADELLAAston Martin Vantage DTM7037.94147.23513
1162Ferdinand VON HABSBURGAston Martin Vantage DTM7039.51647.45415
1276Jake DENNISAston Martin Vantage DTM69+ 1 LAP47.68417
1347Joel ERIKSSONBMW M4 DTM69+ 1 LAP46.98312
1427Jonathan ABERDEINAudi RS5 DTM69+ 1 LAP47.38510
1521Pietro FITTIPALDIAudi RS5 DTM68+ 2 LAPS47.14816
1611Marco WITTMANNBMW M4 DTM64+ 6 LAPS47.0469
R31Sheldon VAN DER LINDEBMW M4 DTM51DNF47.0468
R3Paul DI RESTAAston Martin Vantage DTM44DNF47.48114

Record fifth DTM win at Norisring for Bruno Spengler

  • About The Author

    five × 2 =

    You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>