Blomqvists edged by Wittman for DTM win at Red Bull Ring

BMW’s Marco Wittmann kick-started his DTM season with a win in the first race of the second round at the Red Bull Ring after holding off stablemate Tom Blomqvist throughout.

Wittmann, the 2014 champion, converted his pole position into the lead in his RMG-run M4 DTM and, although Blomqvist spent much of the race within half a second, he never seriously threatened to take the lead, finishing 0.7 seconds adrift.

Post-qualifying performance weight went against BMW, with the eight Munich machines gaining 5kg and the opposition losing 5kg, leaving them 2.5kg heavier than the Audis and Mercedes, but that didn’t stop the M4s taking five of the top six positions.

Only Audi’s Edoardo Mortara kept them on their toes. The Italian threatened for much of the race in his Abt-run RS5 DTM, but then had to turn his attentions to fending off a mid-race attack from Timo Glock.

Glock then faded, although he still comfortably kept Martin Tomczyk at bay, while Mortara then stayed large in the mirrors of second-placed Blomqvist.

Maxime Martin survived a first-corner brush with Mattias Ekstrom and Antonio Felix da Costa, which thrust Ekstrom to the back of the field.

The Belgian then passed championship leader Paul di Resta’s Mercedes for seventh on lap two, before hunting down the Audi of Adrien Tambay.

Martin pulled off a pass on the run down to Turn 3 on the eighth lap, and the loss of momentum for Tambay allowed da Costa to slip through mid-turn, but this was under yellows after Daniel Juncadella had parked his Mercedes with damage from a clash with Christian Vietoris.

Da Costa served a drive-through penalty for the offence, promoting di Resta – who meantime had passed Tambay – to seventh and allowing the Scot to maintain an overnight series lead by three points over Mortara.

The top 10 was rounded out by the BMW of Augusto Farfus and Audi man Nico Muller – Muller made good progress in a largely processional race from an early 14th to deprive Robert Wickens of the final point with 10 laps remaining.


1Marco WittmannRMGBMW42m10.795s
2Tom BlomqvistRBMBMW0.726s
3Edoardo MortaraAbtAudi1.251s
4Timo GlockRMGBMW5.566s
5Martin TomczykSchnitzerBMW6.222s
6Maxime MartinRBMBMW10.712s
7Paul Di RestaHWAMercedes12.182s
8Adrien TambayRosbergAudi12.736s
9Augusto FarfusMTEKBMW15.146s
10Nico MullerAbtAudi15.750s
11Robert WickensHWAMercedes16.505s
12Mike RockenfellerPhoenixAudi17.084s
13Bruno SpenglerMTEKBMW18.730s
14Jamie GreenRosbergAudi21.135s
15Maximilian GotzHWAMercedes21.292s
16Mattias EkstromAbtAudi21.783s
17Timo ScheiderPhoenixAudi22.534s
18Gary PaffettARTMercedes24.050s
19Miguel MolinaAbtAudi24.743s
20Esteban OconARTMercedes25.610s
21Lucas AuerMuckeMercedes26.430s
22Antonio Felix da CostaSchnitzerBMW28.871s
Christian VietorisMuckeMercedesRetirement
Daniel JuncadellaHWAMercedesRetirement

Blomqvists edged by Wittman for DTM win at Red Bull Ring

  • About The Author

    2 × one =

    You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

    Related stories