Bahrain WEC Finale: Hartley’s #17 tops P1, Audi quickest in night practice

Audi led the way in second free practice for the Bahrain World Endurance Championship finale by over a second with a time from Marcel Fassler.

The Swiss set a best lap of 1m42.133s over the course of the 90-minute night session, which put him 1.1s up on the 1m43.291s from team-mate Loic Duval in the second of the two Audi R18 e-tron quattros.

Fassler’s night session best compared with the 1m42.800s set by Porsche driver Timo Bernhard in the opening practice period held in daylight.

The best of the Porsche 919 Hybrids ended up a tenth further back in third place with a 1m43.360s from Brendon Hartley, while team-mate Neel Jani was fourth.

The two Toyota TS040 HYBRIDs took their customary fifth and sixth positions, though Alex Wurz’s best lap of 1m43.931s in the session brought the Japanese manufacturer within two seconds of the pace.

Pipo Derani was quickest in LMP2 with a 1m50.029s aboard the second of the two G-Drive Ligier-Nissan JSP2s.

The Brazilian ended the session seven tenths ahead of the second-place KCMG ORECA-Nissan 05 driven by Nick Tandy.

The two AF Corse Ferrari 458 Italias again blocked out the top two positions in GTE Pro.

Toni Vilander was again quickest, his 1m59.029s edging out James Calado by less than a tenth.

The AF-run SMP Racing Ferrari was fastest in GTE Am in the hands of Andrea Bertolini.


1LMP1M.Fassler, A.Lotterer, B.TreluyerAudi Sport Team JoestAudi1m42.133s
2LMP1L.di Grassi, L.Duval, O.JarvisAudi Sport Team JoestAudi1m43.291s1.158s
3LMP1T.Bernhard, M.Webber, B.HartleyPorsche TeamPorsche1m43.360s1.227s
4LMP1R.Dumas, N.Jani, M.LiebPorsche TeamPorsche1m43.529s1.396s
5LMP1A.Wurz, S.Sarrazin, M.ConwayToyota RacingToyota1m43.931s1.798s
6LMP1A.Davidson, S.Buemi, K.NakajimaToyota RacingToyota1m44.288s2.155s
7LMP1N.Prost, M.BecheRebellion RacingRebellion/AER1m48.385s6.252s
8LMP1S.Trummer, P.KafferTeam ByKollesCLM/AER1m49.200s7.067s
9LMP1A.Imperatori, D.Kraihamer, M.TuscherRebellion RacingRebellion/AER1m49.685s7.552s
10LMP2G.Yacaman, L.Derani, R.GonzalezG-Drive RacingLigier/Nissan1m50.029s7.896s
11LMP2M.Howson, R.Bradley, N.TandyKCMGORECA/Nissan1m50.774s8.641s
12LMP2N.Panciatici, P-L.Chatin, T.DillmannSignatech AlpineAlpine/Nissan1m51.354s9.221s
13LMP2R.Rusinov, J.Canal, S.BirdG-Drive RacingLigier/Nissan1m51.546s9.413s
14LMP2P.Ragues, O.Webb, C.CummingTeam SARD MorandMorgan/SARD1m51.725s9.592s
15LMP2N.Leventis, D.Watts, J.KaneStrakka RacingGibson/Nissan1m52.315s10.182s
16LMP2M.Aleshin, N.Minassian, D.MarkozovAF RacingBR Engineering/Nissan1m52.662s10.529s
17LMP2S.Sharp, R.Dalziel, D.HanssonExtreme Speed MotorsportsLigier/HPD1m52.873s10.740s
18LMP2E.Brown, J.van Overbeek, J.FogartyExtreme Speed MotorsportsLigier/HPD1m53.510s11.377s
19GTE ProG.Bruni, T.VilanderAF CorseFerrari1m59.402s17.269s
20GTE ProD.Rigon, J.CaladoAF CorseFerrari1m59.486s17.353s
21GTE ProP.Pilet, F.MakowieckiPorsche Team MantheyPorsche1m59.618s17.485s
22GTE ProC.Nygaard, M.Sorensen, N.ThiimAston Martin RacingAston Martin2m00.349s18.216s
23GTE ProA.MacDowall, F.Rees, R.StanawayAston Martin RacingAston Martin2m00.396s18.263s
24GTE AmV.Shaitar, A.Bertolini, A.BasovSMP RacingFerrari2m00.866s18.733s
25GTE AmC.Ried, P.Long, M.SeefriedDempsey Racing – ProtonPorsche2m00.939s18.806s
26GTE ProR.Lietz, M.ChristensenPorsche Team MantheyPorsche2m01.019s18.886s
27GTE AmG.Roda, P.Ruberti, K.PoulsenLarbre CompetitionChevrolet2m01.369s19.236s
28GTE ProD.Turner, J.AdamAston Martin RacingAston Martin2m01.405s19.272s
29GTE AmF.Castellacci, R.Goethe, S.HallAston Martin RacingAston Martin2m02.116s19.983s
30GTE AmP.D.Lana, P.Lamy, M.LaudaAston Martin RacingAston Martin2m02.672s20.539s
31GTE AmM.Mapelli, K.Al Qubaisi, K.BachlerAbu Dhabi-Proton RacingPorsche2m03.103s20.970s
32GTE AmF.Perrodo, E.Collard, M.CressoniAF CorseFerrari2m03.525s21.392s

Bahrain WEC Finale: Hartley’s #17 tops P1, Audi quickest in night practice

  • About The Author

    four × 4 =

    You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>