Lester/Smyth dominate Phillip Island 101 qualifying


Ferrari drivers Jono Lester and Graeme Smyth will start the Australian GT Championship’s Phillip Island 101 endurance race from pole position.

Lester was fastest in the first of the two qualifying sessions, with Smyth then being sixth fastest in the second session to give the entry a combined average lap-time of 1m27.910s.

The next best entry was the JAMEC PEM Audi R8 Ultra, German GT driver Christopher Mies going second fastest to Lester in Q1, and Greg Crick 13th to yield an average of 1m28.525s.

There was another decent gap back to the third fastest average time, set by V8 Supercars endurance driver Tony D’Alberto and TV star Grant Denyer, who averaged 1m29.039s to qualify their Ferrari third.

Andrew Taplin and Dean Canto were fourth fastest in their Aston Martin, John Magro and Nathan Morcom fifth in their Lamborghini, while Holden Racing Team V8 driver Garth Tander and co-driver Tony Quinn qualified sixth in Quinn’s McLaren 650S GT3.

Nissan V8 driver James Moffat qualified 11th outright and second in the Trophy class alongside Kevin Weeks in their Ford GT. The Trophy pole went to Lamborghini drivers Jan Jinadasa and Josh Hunt.

Lester/Smyth dominate Phillip Island 101 qualifying

  • Motorsport.com
    About The Author

    5 × one =

    You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

    Related stories