Jimmie Johnson wins postponed Bristol NASCAR race


Jimmie Johnson took victory in Monday’s NASCAR Cup Series race at Bristol, which was postponed from Sunday by rain.

With no qualifying session taking place, pole was given to Chip Ganassi Racing’s Kyle Larson ahead of Chase Elliott and Martin Truex Jr based on championship standings.

Drivers fought to take the sticky, resin-covered inside line and avoid the slick outside line until the final stage, when grip levels increased.

Johnson, Larson and Kevin Harvick battled in close quarters for the last 30 laps after a caution triggered by Kasey Kahne on lap 461.

Eventually, Stewart-Haas Racing’s Harvick finished third behind team-mate Clint Bowyer, who was anonymous for most of the race but benefited from numerous late cautions and some rapid pit-stops.

Bowyer tried to challenge Johnson for victory in the closing stages, but finished one second behind.

Logano fell back to fifth at the finish, having been bullied into traffic and onto the outside line by Bowyer and Harvick.

Kenseth played a patient game to finish fourth, having been just outside the top ten in both stages one and two.

Polesitter Larson also succumbed to traffic and ended up sixth, a second behind Logano, which was disappointing given his performance in stages one and two.

Larson won stage one having led all 125 laps, followed by a pacey Truex and his rookie team-mate and Xfinity race winner Erik Jones, whose promising run was set back when he hit the wall on lap 420 and collected AJ Allmendinger.

Furniture Row Racing’s Truex won stage two with an excellent lap 229 restart on four new tyres, with Logano and Johnson in tow for second and third respectively.

Larson fell behind on that restart, with tyre wear eventually pushing him back to seventh. Truex lost a shot at victory having sped in the pits late on and finished eighth overall.

Ricky Stenhouse Jr continued his solid record at Bristol in ninth, following on from second in 2016.


1Jimmie JohnsonHendrick MotorsportsChevrolet500
2Clint BowyerStewart-Haas RacingFord500
3Kevin HarvickStewart-Haas RacingFord500
4Matt KensethJoe Gibbs RacingToyota500
5Joey LoganoTeam PenskeFord500
6Kyle LarsonChip Ganassi RacingChevrolet500
7Chase ElliottHendrick MotorsportsChevrolet500
8Martin Truex Jr.Furniture Row RacingToyota500
9Ricky Stenhouse Jr.Roush Fenway RacingFord500
10Denny HamlinJoe Gibbs RacingToyota500
11Trevor BayneRoush Fenway RacingFord500
12Jamie McMurrayChip Ganassi RacingChevrolet500
13Austin DillonRichard Childress RacingChevrolet500
14Ryan NewmanRichard Childress RacingChevrolet500
15Ty DillonGermain RacingChevrolet500
16Paul MenardRichard Childress RacingChevrolet499
17Erik JonesFurniture Row RacingToyota499
18Daniel SuarezJoe Gibbs RacingToyota498
19Matt DiBenedettoGo FAS RacingFord498
20Kasey KahneHendrick MotorsportsChevrolet498
21Cole WhittTriStar MotorsportsChevrolet498
22Aric AlmirolaRichard Petty MotorsportsFord497
23David RaganFront Row MotorsportsFord497
24Corey LaJoieBK RacingToyota497
25Kurt BuschStewart-Haas RacingFord494
26Michael McDowellLeavine Family RacingChevrolet494
27Jeffrey EarnhardtCircle Sport / TMGChevrolet491
28Reed SorensonPremium MotorsportsChevrolet490
29Gray GauldingBK RacingToyota487
30A.J. AllmendingerJTG Daugherty RacingChevrolet482
31Derrike CopePremium MotorsportsChevrolet465
32Landon CassillFront Row MotorsportsFord458
33Ryan BlaneyWood Brothers RacingFord452
34Brad KeselowskiTeam PenskeFord433
35Kyle BuschJoe Gibbs RacingToyota383
36Danica PatrickStewart-Haas RacingFord320
37Timmy HillRick Ware RacingChevrolet234
38Dale Earnhardt Jr.Hendrick MotorsportsChevrolet218
39Chris BuescherJTG Daugherty RacingChevrolet53

Jimmie Johnson wins postponed Bristol NASCAR race

  • Autosport
    About The Author

    13 + ten =

    You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>