Fabian Coulthard takes Supercars honours at Australian GP


Kiwi Fabian Coulthard has taken overall honours at the non-championship Supercars round at the Australian Grand Prix, despite a blown tyre in race four on Sunday.

Coulthard was leading seven laps into the 13-lap final race when he sustained a puncture to his left front tyre, forcing him into the pits in his Ford Falcon.

The New Zealander’s misfortune allowed Australian Chaz Mostert to break through for his first win at the Albert Park circuit in Melbourne in his Ford.

Fellow Kiwi Shane van Gisbergen was second with Australian Tim Slade in third.

Coulthard finished race four in 20th but wins in race two and three and a second place behind teammate Scott McLaughlin in race one were enough to give him the overall win.

McLaughlin finished the final race in 17th after he was involved in a multi-car collision at turn one on the opening lap, but had earned enough points to finish the round second overall.

In a dramatic turn of events, Australian Jamie Whincup briefly took the lead when Coulthard pitted.

Whincup, who started from pole position on Sunday, was in the box seat to secure the round win until he too suffered a blown tyre and pitted in his Commodore.

Mostert was third overall at Albert Park.

The Supercars championship resumes at Symmons Plains in Tasmania, Australia on April 7.

Fabian Coulthard takes Supercars honours at Australian GP

  • Stuff.co.nz
    About The Author

    17 − sixteen =

    You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

    Related stories