Kiwi Heimgartner selected for Shannons Supercar Showdown

Organisers of the Shannons Supercar Showdown TV series have revealed details for series two of the show and confirmed that it will return this Monday (July 23) on 7mate at 6.30pm.

Again, 10 drivers will battle it out over 10 weeks through a series of challenges and eliminations for the chance to co-drive a Shannons-backed, Kelly Racing Commodore with host Grant Denyer in The Great Race – the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 in October.

The field includes a hot bed of young racing talent, including Aussie Racing Cars champion Adrian Cottrell, V8 Utes race-winner Ryal Harris, Porsche Carrera Cup racer Andre Heimgartner from New Zealand and current Australian Formula Ford Championship leader Jack Le Brocq.

Journalists Andrew MacLean (Motor Magazine editor) and Samantha Stevens are also part of the 10 racing for their Bathurst dream as well as 34-year-old Queenslander Sarah Harley and Texan Ed Sevadjian.

“We have drivers coming from local and international categories, from open wheelers, to Carrera Cup through to rallying,” says Rick Kelly.

“We cast the net wide and I think we have the right mix of experience and competitive edge to produce a very worthy winner.”

Both Rick and brother Todd will be joined by some Australian V8 racing legends throughout the series who will offer valuable tips and insight to each of the contestants as they compete each week to avoid elimination.

“Our sport has so many barriers to entry that identifying and testing new talent through the TV series means that hopefully we can unearth a future star of Australian motorsport,” says Todd, the 2005 Bathurst 1000 winner.

“We are delighted with how Cameron Waters is developing, and Sam Reid who came third (in series one), is also a regular track tester with Kelly Racing.”

Last year’s prize was won by Waters, the 2011 Australian Formula Ford Champion making history by becoming the youngest-ever driver in the history of the Bathurst classic.

He now drives for Dreamtime Racing – an offshoot team of Kelly Racing – in the Dunlop Series.

With Kelly Racing fully committed with its four cars in the V8 Supercars Championship and two cars being used by Dreamtime Racing, the squad has elected to out-source the running of the Bathurst entry to Dunlop Series team Minda Motorsport.

Denyer and the winner of the Shannons Supercar Showdown will drive an ex-Walkinshaw Racing Commodore last raced by Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport.

The car was the same chassis taken to victory in the 2007 V8 Supercar Championship by Garth Tander for the Toll HSV Dealer Team.

Kiwi Heimgartner selected for Shannons Supercar Showdown

  • About The Author

    four × 4 =

    You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

    Related stories