Dixon tops Indycar Driver of the Year Poll

Top 10 IndyCar Driver of the Year 2013:
1. Scott Dixon

Birthplace: Auckland, New Zealand
Birthdate: July 22, 1980
Team: Target Chip Ganassi Racing
2013 starts: 19
Poles: 2
Wins: 4
Top 5: 10
Top 10: 12
Championship points: 577
Championship position: 1st
Crash.net IndyCar Driver of 2011 position: 4th
Crash.net IndyCar Driver of 2012 position: 4th

Season summary:

All hail the 2013 IZOD IndyCar Series champion! But boy, did he leave it late to make his title-winning run. Despite a second place at Alabama, Dixon was languishing eighth in the points after the Indy 500 with the Honda contingent as a whole looking underpowered and glitchy until deep into the season. Was it to be another wasted year for Dixon and the Ganassi team? It seemed that way until we got to Pocono, where the Kiwi suddenly took flight on the tricky triangle to claim the team’s first win of the year. He followed that up with a sweep of the Toronto double-header, but even so it looked like the title would go to Helio Castroneves right up until the Penske team had a disastrous time of it in Houston where Dixon was able to capitalise with a win and a second place that enabled him to go on and clinch his third title in the season finale at Fontana.

Do you think that first is about right for Dixon? You can share your opinions simply by clicking on ‘Post your comments’. And don’t forget to check back in a few days time to see a full run down of scores, and the rest of the standings outside the top ten!

The complete top 10 IndyCar Driver of the Year 2013 results:

1. Scott Dixon
2. James Hinchcliffe
3. Tony Kanaan
4. Helio Castroneves
5. Simon Pagenaud
6. Dario Franchitti
7. Justin Wilson
8. Charlie Kimball
9. Simona de Silvestro
10. Ryan Hunter-Reay

Dixon tops Indycar Driver of the Year Poll

  • About The Author

    sixteen − 7 =

    You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>