Dixon takes Iowa pole with record lap!

Scott Dixon broke the Iowa Speedway’s two-lap qualifying record en route to pole position for tomorrow’s Iowa Corn Indy 300. The Ganassi Racing driver broke the 186mph barrier and will start on the front row beside teammate Tony Kanaan.

Kanaan, a former winner at the 7/8mi oval, held provisional pole for most of the session before being overtaken late by his teammate.

Helio Castroneves, who sits in a tie atop the IndyCar points standings with Will Power, will start P3 next to Ryan Briscoe. Power will start ninth.

Carlos Munoz will start on the third row alongside four-time ChampCar champion Sebastien Bourdais and ahead of Charlie Kimball.

Marco Andretti, winner of the 2011 event in Newton, will start eighth ahead of Power, and Ed Carpenter rounds out the top ten.

Last year’s winner, James Hinchcliffe, was hurt by an early qualifying spot and will start P14, just behind this year’s Indy 500 winner Ryan Hunter-Reay.

Juan Pablo Montoya, victorious last week at Pocono, will have an uphill battle tomorrow, starting P19 on his IndyCar debut at the Iowa Speedway. Montoya last tested here when he was exploring a move from Formula 1 to NASCAR in 2007.

Dixon takes Iowa pole with record lap!

  • About The Author

    11 + ten =

    You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>