North Island Endurance Championship confirms 2017 dates & return to Pukekohe

The 2017 ENEOS North Island Endurance championship is hoping for its best ever grids in the one hour and three hour races that will once again form the basis of this season.

The three round championships blast off at the Bruce McLaren Motorsport Park on Saturday May 20th, before moving north to the Hampton Downs International Motorsport Park on June 24th and then concluding with a return to Pukekohe Park on July 22.

There will once again be five classes offered to competitors, with Class 1, Class 2, Class 3 and Class 4 based on the capacity of the engine and an equivalency formula for turbocharged, supercharged or rotary engines and the top class being the GT class. With the rise in popularity of FIA GT3 cars, the series is considering adding a class specifically for these cars, in consultation with the car owners.

Organisers are hoping to again attract not only specialist GT machinery to the NZ championship series, but also cars from summer series that qualify for one of the classes, or cars that have competed in the winter based endurance series during past seasons.

“We have seen good solid grids and some great racing action over the past few seasons, and we expect this to continue with the 2017 one hour and three hour championships,” explained organising group chairman Kel McBeath.

“It remains the best bang-for-buck series on the North Island and the most rewarding for a team as it is definitely a collective effort that produces the best results. It’s going to be exciting in every class and we are looking forward to a great series, the first for ENEOS as the title sponsor.”

Entries can be made now on line at and for spectators, Early Bird Tickets are also available on line at Adult tickets are $10 on line (Normal price $20) and Family tickets $20 on-line (Normal price $40).

Further information on rules and regulations are available for competitors at

North Island Endurance Championship confirms 2017 dates & return to Pukekohe

  • About The Author

    16 − four =

    You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>