“If it ain’t broke…”: Champion Porsche team retain same line ups for 2016

Porsche will retain all six of its full-season drivers in next year’s FIA World Endurance Championship, the German manufacturer has confirmed Saturday.

The confirmation leaves 24 Hours of Le Mans winners Nick Tandy and Earl Bamber unable to defend their overall crown in 2016, due to a joint decision by Audi and Porsche to eliminate their third LMP1 entries for the race.

Mark Webber, Brendon Hartley and Timo Bernhard will return to defend their World Championship, with Romain Dumas, Marc Lieb and Neel Jani back in the second Porsche 919 Hybrid, also for the third consecutive year.

“Both our driver trios didn’t only perform brilliantly on track, but have also been with us since the beginning of the program and have significantly contributed to the Porsche 919 Hybrid’s development,” said Fritz Enzinger, Vice President LMP1.

“We are very proud of these six top drivers, and very pleased all of them are on board for the 2016 world championship and the Le Mans 24 Hours.”

Added team principal Andreas Seidl: “This also proves how important it is in this championship to have two equally strong driver crews. We will build on that strength and continuity.”

“If it ain’t broke…”: Champion Porsche team retain same line ups for 2016

  • About The Author

    10 − three =

    You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>