Macau Grand Prix: Verschoor upstages Vips for giantkilling win; Lawson best of the Kiwi in seventh

MP Motorsport’s Richard Verschoor scored a giantkilling Macau Grand Prix victory after fending off Red Bull Formula 1 junior Juri Vips in the new F3 car’s Guia circuit debut.

In a dramatic start to the Grand Prix, 2019 FIA Formula 3 champion Robert Shwartzman of Prema Racing and ART Grand Prix’s Christian Lundgaard went side by side behind Vips for second, but Ferrari junior Shwartzman was on the left-hand side into Mandarin and Lundgaard clipped the front right of Shwartzman’s car as the former took the inside.

Shwartzman rolled into the run-off at Lisboa, one of the pre-event favourites immediately removed from the action.

Third-placed starter Verschoor made the most of the battle and dived to the inside to take second, but Vips ended the first tour 1.8 seconds ahead in a phenomenal first lap by the Hitech Grand Prix ace.

But the gap would be short-lived as a crash at Lisboa for Leo Pulcini while fighting for seventh was quickly followed a few corners later by Ferdinand Habsburg spearing into the barriers at the Esses, bringing out a safety car.

Verschoor jumped ahead of Vips at Lisboa on the restart, before a short virtual safety car. When the action resumed, DRS was enabled and Vips attempted multiple moves into Lisboa on the last four laps, but ultimately Verschoor was able to hold on for a fairytale win for the minnows MP Motorsport.

The Dutchman finished 13th in the F3 championship this year, but was phenomenal throughout the weekend.

Vips was a clear second from Logan Sargeant of Carlin, the rookie perhaps lucky to escape a penalty for his role in a Turn 1 pile-up at Lisboa in the qualifying race, but was racey in the grand prix and fought past a number of strong challengers in his first visit to Macau.

Renault junior Lundgaard wasn’t able to rebuff Sargeant but did hold Alessio Lorandi at bay, the Italian back from a year out for a torn tendon in his thumb and impressing despite his lack of match fitness.

Ferrari junior Ilott followed Lorandi home as another driver with little or no experience of the new F3 car, the Brit competing in F2 this season and missed his simulator session before the weekend due to cancelled flights.

He came under pressure from one of the drivers of the race, Red Bull’s Liam Lawson, but the Kiwi was just held at bay as Ilott secured sixth.

Verschoor’s MP teammate Lawson started 20th, but the team which is run on a shoestring budget, provided a rocketship for its two lead drivers to work forward, and with a number of opportunistic moves he took seventh.

Marcus Armstrong scythed through the field for FIA F3 teams’ champions Prema Racing, the Ferrari junior having started 17th after being caught in a qualifying race pile up.

David Beckmann was the top Trident driver in ninth although he slipped back through the race, and the second remaining Prema of Fredrik Vesti sealed the top 10.

On her return after a shocking airborne crash last year, Sophia Floersch retired after her car ground to a halt just before Mandarin, which brought out the VSC.

Double Macau winner Dan Ticktum pulled off an impressive recovery drive, coming from the back of the grid to finish 13th.

The Brit had been caught up in the Turn 1 qualification race crash which robbed him of fighting for a hat-trick of wins on his first outing with Carlin at the race.

His fellow Brit and pre-event favourite Jake Hughes was caught in the same crash and also came from the back, driving through to 17th.


Cla  Nº  Driver TeamGap
121 Richard VerschoorMP Motorsport
2Juri VipsHitech Grand Prix0.792
328 Logan SargeantCarlin1.540
4Christian LundgaardART Grand Prix2.241
515 Alessio LorandiTrident5.020
625 Callum IlottSauber Junior Team5.922
720 Liam LawsonMP Motorsport8.594
8Marcus ArmstrongPrema Theodore Racing9.365
914 David BeckmannTrident13.239
10Frederik VestiPrema Theodore Racing13.633
11Yuki TsunodaHitech Grand Prix 15.717
1217 Keyvan AndresHWA18.665
1330 Dan TicktumCarlin19.230
1419 Lukas DunnerMP Motorsport20.498
1511 Sebastian FernandezART Grand Prix21.705
1627 Enzo FittipaldiSauber Junior Team26.174
1716 Jake HughesHWA26.294
18Max FewtrellHitech Grand Prix 28.690
1923 Charles LeongJenzer Motorsport33.792
2024 Andreas EstnerJenzer Motorsport34.400
2126 David SchumacherSauber Junior Team35.894
2232 Enaam AhmedCampos Racing36.521
2322 Arjun MainiJenzer Motorsport37.184
2429 Felipe DrugovichCarlin37.621
2531 Alessio DeleddaCampos Racing53.135
Ret18 Sophia FloerschHWARetirement
Ret10 Ferdinand HabsburgART Grand PrixRetirement
Ret33 Leonardo PulciniCampos RacingRetirement
Ret12 Olli CaldwellTridentRetirement
RetRobert ShwartzmanPrema Theodore RacingRetirement

Macau Grand Prix: Verschoor upstages Vips for giantkilling win; Lawson best of the Kiwi in seventh

  • About The Author

    14 + eleven =

    You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>